Chakra balancing with gemstones

The word CHAKRA is Sanskrit for wheel.
The chakras are rotating wheels of energy radiating from the body.
Lifeforce or vital energy is absorbed into and released from the physical body via the chakras.

There are seven major chakras situated along the spine:

(1) Base or Root Chakra (RED) at the level of the coccyx.
(2) Sacral Chakra (ORANGE) just below the navel.
(3) Solar Plexus  (YELLOW) below the breast bone, between the ribcage.
(4) Heart Chakra (GREEN) between the breasts in the centre of the chest.
(5) Throat Chakra (BLUE) in the hollow between the collar bones.
(6) Brow or Third Eye Chakra (INDIGO) at the third eye in between the eyebrows.
(7) Crown Chakra (VIOLET) at the top of the head.

The pressure of high-stress modern living can often cause our chakras to become unbalanced or blocked.

When this happens, the body is unable to absorb the life force it needs to function at its optimum, and will eventually show signs of strain in the form of illness and disease.

It is important to become aware of the existence of these energy centres and to clear blockages when they occur.

Each chakra contains all the colours of the spectrum but only one colour is dominant in each.

Gemstones that correspond to the dominant colour of each chakra can be used to assist in balancing and re-aligning the chakras.


Base ~ Red Jasper
Sacral ~ Carnelian
Solar Plexus ~ Yellow aventurine
Heart ~ Green Aventurine & Rose Quartz
Throat ~ Blue Lace Agate
Third Eye ~ Sodalite
Crown ~ Amethyst & Clear Quartz


Wearing loose clothing, lie in a comfortable place with the spine straight, feet slightly apart and arms alongside the body with palms facing up.

Starting with the base chakra, position the appropriate coloured gemstones on the body so that their position corresponds to each of the chakras.

The stone for the crown chakra can be placed above the head in contact with the skull.

You might want to place a Rose Quartz on the heart area for an added sense of love and security.

Clear Quartz can be placed above the crown chakra to help progress upon the spiritual path.
Close your eyes and breathe deeply for a while, allowing the whole body to become light and oxygenated.

Visualize any toxins in the body being released with your exhalations.

Move up the Chakra system until you reach the Crown.

Be intuitive about the amount of time spent on each chakra - the ones that are out of balance may need more time.

You may become aware of physical sensations that are caused by the energy of the gemstones interacting with the energy in your body.

This is a good time for meditation and receiving guidance from your Higher Self.
Once you are complete visualize yourself surrounded by …..
Light, Love and Protection.

Check out the Chakra Balancing Kits available from our online store: